Our School Governors

You can find out everything you need to know about the Governing Board at Glory Farm below. 

What do governors do?

Governors are essential to the work of the school and are legally responsible for it. They are not however, involved in the day-to-day running of the school which is managed by Mrs MacLachlan and the Senior Leadership Team. This leaves governors free to focus on their core functions of:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

  • Holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils and the performance management of staff; and

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governors act as a sounding board for issues being reviewed within the school and work with senior leaders to raise standards of attainment, challenging them to ensure the school continues to improve and provide every pupil with a wonderful learning experience. They approve the school budget and appoint the Head Teacher. They work as a team and make collective decisions, abiding by an agreed code of conduct (see below). As you would expect they need to gain an understanding of the school and its overall performance in order to explain its decision and actions. This is done by attending regular meetings and carrying out school visits. They also attend training in order to keep up to date with the requirements of the role.

Minutes of Governing Board meetings are available to read, please call in to the school office if you wish to do so. You can also get in touch with the governing board by emailing chairofgovernors@gloryfarmschool.co.uk or by sending a letter via the office. 

Our Clerk is Felicity Pusey who can be contacted via letter sent to the office or email fpusey@bernwodeschoolstrust.co.uk.

Name Role
Hayley Evans Chair, Link Governor for Safeguarding
Kirsty Ford Vice Chair, Link governor for Finance and Whistle blowing  
Sarah Turnock  Link governor for Cultural Capital and Policies
Zoe Joiner Link governor for Website Compliance
Jane Ward Link governor for Pupil Premium and Sports Premium
Steven Hazell Link governor for Health & Safety
Melissa Gibson Link governor for SEND
Jane MacLachlan Or exceptionally nominated representative





Page Downloads Date  
Declarations GFPS 14th Oct 2021 Download
GFPS Governors Code Of Conduct 14th Oct 2021 Download
Governor Attendance 2020-21 14th Oct 2021 Download